My psychic powers fail me – again

13 Oct

Whatever happened to the willing exchange of information. And plain old good customer service for that matter? In the age of online shopping have all person centred businesses developed a ‘do it yourself’ attitude?

Despite my doubts I have proceeded with the motions in any case. My philosophy – it is easy and absolutely fine for me to pull out at any time but not so easy to make up lost time should I want to go ahead.

I had my scheduled IVF orientation today in the Sydney offices. It was agreed with the doctor in Canberra and both Sydney and Canberra fertility clinics that I can have the treatment in Sydney (to spare myself the travel) as long as I undergo the procedure in Canberra.

So I attend the flashy offices of the fertility clinic today to find that :

Firstly, they can’t find my file. They located it after some fussing.

Secondly, my referral has expired. Okay, I can get a new one and fax to them but not before I understand how inconvenient this is.

Thirdly, they don’t have my treatment plan. And therefore the orientation can not take place.  

Apparently my doctor should have discussed with me my treatment plan. Admit ably, I have received a table from the fertility clinic in Canberra (2 bits of paper sticky taped together) titled Planned Pill Crossover Protocol which indicated when I should be taking the pill and when I should start taking Lucrin. Well I stopped taking the contraceptive pill so a new plan has to be done which I expected – but I also thought that the orientation could happen anyway. I wasn’t told that I had to have the plan locked down before this appointment.

Anyway, the question here is simple – whose responsibility is it to give the appropriate information to the appropriate person. Okay I can dig being proactive and organized. But I am not fucking physic. How am I meant to know what to bring to this appointment if I am not told, after all it is not something I do everyday. And, if my referral has expired shouldn’t they let me know instead of expecting that I would? Is there anyone out there who keeps a personal record of these things? Is there? Please message me if you do.

When I put this to the nurse taking the orientation she agreed that I was not to automatically know these things. But she still couldn’t do it because there are two sorts of treatments I could undergo and she doesn’t know which one I should be on. This is news to me too. Two different treatments? Okay I remember now reading something about it but there is just so much information to digest. A little help here for my doctor or someone involved in the process to offer this information wouldn’t go astray. I’ll post some info about these two treatments after my tirade.

Now here is the real kicker!

Nice Nurse lady says “things have changed since you were here last – we can now get sperm from an overseas sperm bank but I can’t give you any information about that because the sperm donor coordinator is on annual leave”

INTERNAL SCREAMING!!! 

Okay, fair enough that they can’t contact every person who they know is having treatment with them but the procedure in Canberra because they wanted more choice from overseas sperm banks – but I bet there aren’t that many of us. Really.

I kept the dialogue to a minimum after this because I was so not happy. I planned to regain composure and call with a list of questions early next week – when the sperm donor chick is back.

The good news out of this disappointing scenario – I may be able to have the procedure here in Sydney.

Information about two IVF treatments consider for myself:

There are several ovarian stimulation medication protocols that are used to “pump up” the ovaries to make enough follicles and eggs. Without stimulating medications, the ovaries make and release only 1 mature egg per menstrual cycle (month). The commonly used stimulation regimens include injections of follicle stimulating hormone – FSH.

Two of the most common treatment cycles are a Long Down Regulation Treatment Cycle, or an Antagonist Treatment Cycle.

In short, the LDR treatment is less drugs less side effects (I like the sound of that) but I am yet to understand why the doctor would choose one over the other for different women. That is one of the questions for the list.

Source: http://www.ivf.com.au/

Leave a Reply

