Orientation

6 Dec

I had my orientation today at the fertility clinic in Sydney. The orientation serves as an information session about the IVF treatment cycle and explains how to use the medication and administer the injections.

After successfully passing the troll under the bridge (a fearsome and intimidating nurse coordinator who is definitely working in the wrong industry) the lady who took me through it all was wonderful. My advice to anyone considering embarking on an IVF journey – do the orientation ASAP. I am disappointed that I didn’t do this earlier. Well, I did try to but they didn’t have the information they should have and thus sent me home.

Anyway, I feel well informed now. I have read a lot about this but nothing beats having it explained to you in person with diagrams and the opportunity to ask questions.

I will undergo the Long Down Regulation treatment. Because I have high FSH I have been advised to have a blood test at day 1 of my period to check how high my FSH is. If it is high (14 or higher) then I should probably wait for the next cycle to see whether it is any lower. Apparently it is well known and tested that success is unlikely with high FSH at this point. FSH can vary month to month and it is worth waiting for the next cycle to see, as it could increase the success rate significantly.

The short version goes something like this:

On day 20 I will get another test to check my progesterone levels – this will tell if I have ovulated. If all goes according to plan I will start taking the Lucrin by injection. This will suppress my natural hormones so that my cycle will be controlled. When my eggs start to grow it will stop them from being released naturally. I am pretty much guaranteed to feel shit whilst taking this medication. I will take this for around 14 days. I will get my period and when I do I must get another test.

The next stage is to start the FSH injections. Apparently I will feel a lot better when I move to this YAY! This will last for approximately 12 days. FSH injections work by stimulating the ovaries to produce more than one follicle (egg). On day  8 to 10 I will have an ultrasound and another blood test. If it looks like I am ready I will have the trigger injection and egg collection will occur approximately 36 hours later.

Then my eggs meet the super sperm. They fall in love and live happily ever after once put back in my uterus 🙂 The ones that are not put back can be frozen for future use.

Cest Tu.

After I had received all this information today it really hit me how alone I feel. Going through something like this, with no-one to hold your hand on a daily basis, is scary and lonely. However, facing the reality of doing this alone NOW is healthy and helps create the space to be excited about it during the process. And so the excitement builds…

2 Responses to “Orientation”

  1. Sarah December 6, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    I was reading an old magazine article last night about a 41 year old woman who did the exact same thing as you (from the same US company as well), she was saying how amazing the experience has been for her and that she didn’t feel lonely after having her baby girl as she had so many wonderful family and friends around her, who are a big part in her childs life. You are incredibly brave doing all of this on your own and at times your bound to feel lonely, but remember, you are never truly alone as we are all here to support you whenever you need it…and even if you don’t need it:-)
    xxx

    • Deborah December 7, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

      I agree! : -) x x x x x

Leave a Reply

