Day 1 – Synarel Nasal Spray

3 Feb

A lot of people are going to cringe when I say this but if I had known I could make the choice of injecting the synarel instead of using the nasal spray before I ordered it – I would have chosen the injections. I hate spraying stuff up my nose. I have been a right sook with it today, having to count myself in to actually do it. It just grosses me out. (I’m video journaling this and I am sure it will be really amusing to watch back – yes, I plan to share) Besides that, I also find it confusing to whether I have done it right. Anyway, no point moaning about it as I have quite a few days of this, 2 x per day, ahead of me.

Synarel is a hormone contained in a nasal spray, which suppresses the release of Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) and Luteinizing Hormone (LH) from the pituitary gland. This prevents spontaneousovulation (ie release of the ripe eggs from the ovary) before ovum pick-up (OPU).

Synarel is absorbed through the mucous membranes in the nose and the most common dose is one spray twice daily. It is recommended to use one nostril in the morning and the other in the evening. This should be taken 12 hours apart.

In true Tash fashion I had to race home to take my second dose at 7pm.

SIDE-EFFECTS:
The most frequently reported adverse reactions are those related to hypo-oestrogenism; hot flushes, changes in libido, vaginal dryness, headaches, emotional lability, acne, myalgia, decreased breast size, and irritation of the nasal mucosa.

I really hope my breasts don’t get smaller as there really isn’t that much there anyway 🙂 Unfortunately I’m not having sex right now so no problem with that stuff. It’s unlikely I will get acne as I never have before and the rest I can live with for a short while.

I’m leaving for a yoga weekend tomorrow after work which is perfect timing. Should I experience any side effects the yoga practice and positivity from a fine group of people will ease the load.

Despite hating using the nasal spray I am in a really jovial mood and feel positive about all this. A great start on day 1 of the treatment.

Leave a Reply

