Take Two

9 Mar

Everything is going so well! I arrived in Canberra the night before the egg retrieval on Thursday. Great apartment, comfortable bed.

The people at Caps Clinic (day surgery) were so nice. I really couldn’t have asked for a better experience when going through something like this. What a caring bunch of people. They were also really open – they actually let us film the procedure (for the documentary)!

Three eggs were retrieved! Like I say – if I had to choose, it’s about quality not quantity for me. So into the petri dish they went to meet some sperm.

I had to wait until the next day to see whether the eggs were fertilised. Three out of three! All of them seemed to find a suitable sperm companion. They obviously liked each other.  What a relief that was and of course I jumped up and down in excitement and screamed like the wild woman I am.

More waiting. I would receive a phone call the following day to tell me if they went through cell division. Three out of three again but there was one stand out that was apparently perfect.

So on Monday  I went in for the embryo transfer. And that went extremely well too. It barely took five minutes to put two back. Yes, that’s right – two back.

Bring it on! I could so do twins.

Now it’s two weeks wait to confirm the pregnancy *sigh*. But until then I am what my Solo Mums by Choice friends called PUPO – Pregnant Until Proven Otherwise 🙂

2 Responses to “Take Two”

  1. Susan March 10, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    fingers, toes and eyes crossed xxx

  2. Chantelle March 13, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I am saying lots of prayers for you right now. Lots of love sent to you from me. kiss kiss.

Leave a Reply

