Big Fat Positive

16 Mar

My first hCG test was on Monday which showed a level of 36. My second test was today which was 106. This is good!

HCG is the abbreviation for “Human Chorionic Gonadotropin”The hCG pregnancy hormone level, has a  wide range of normal levels in early pregnancy. hCG is the “pregnancy hormone” which is being produced by the placenta as soon as implantation happens about one week after fertilization and ovulation. hCG then continues to rise until about 10-12 weeks at which point it will stabilize or drop. hCG levels in early pregnancy usually doubles every 48-72 hours and it normally increaseses by at least 60% every two days. Read more at http://www.babymed.com/hcg-level-in-early-pregnancy?ktrack=kcplink

So, the nurse told me today that this means I am preggers! A big fat positive! Woohooooooo! 

I know, as many well intentioned people have told me “It’s early days” but I am happy to celebrate this success. And therefore I repeat – Woohooooooo!

What’s next? I stay on the progestrone treatment “crinone” and get another test on Firday to check the hCG levels continue rising.  

I am so very very happy right now 🙂

3 Responses to “Big Fat Positive”

  1. nursemyra March 19, 2011 at 4:27 am #

    Seriously?!? Wow – this is fantastic news….. xxx

  2. motherinwaiting March 19, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Yar!!!! 😀 My levels on Friday were 206 which are very good.

  3. Chantelle March 20, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Congrat’s girl. I cried when I read your update. x x

Leave a Reply

