A day as Linda Blair

1 Aug

Synarel. The drug that causes so many women madness and mayhem.

Last time I did an IVF cycle I didn’t understand what all the fuss was about. I sailed through the “down period”, moaning only of the fact that I had to spray liquid up my nose. Hmmm? This time however, I was lucky enough to spend the Saturday just past as a head spinning, eye popping freak who even managed to turn the organic oil man at the markets into an enemy. Actually, in all fairness he really picked the wrong day to be making persistant romantic advances at me. Couldn’t he see I was possessed by a demon?

Anyway, I woke from a fitful sleep and a dreadful dream and the day just spiraled downward from there. I was teary for no reason. And when I say “teary” I really mean “sobbing”. Everything was an effort. Oh and the negative thoughts! I met a friend at the market and continued my quest to be the most negative person on earth. “What’s that revolting smell”, “OMG what is that person eating”, “It’s ridiculous that Mr T (my adoring boyfriend) says he loves me more as the weeks go on” – yes, I actually whinged about that!

The worst part was the anxiety. I found myself at times having to remind myself to breathe. And the simple act of parking whilst the neighborhood busy body watched my every move nearly ended in cold blooded murder.

Linda Blair in the Exorcist really scared me – it’s an image which still induces a shudder when brought to mind. That’s how I feel about myself on Saturday. Okay, I wasn’t actually that bad but I wasn’t myself, that’s for sure.

Yep. Synarel.

Synarel nasal spray contains the active ingredient nafarelin which acts on the pituitary gland in the brain. The pituitary gland produces and stores various hormones, including the sex hormones, luteinising hormone (LH) and follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH). In women, FSH and LH cause the production of oestrogen by the ovaries and help control the menstrual cycle. Chronic administration of nafarelin desensitises the pituitary gland. This means that it produces less and less FSH and LH, which in turn stops the production of oestrogens in women. This provides a more controlled situation for subsequent artificial stimulation of the ovaries to produce eggs.

Anyway,  estrogen fluctuations have been known to affect the emotional state, causing shifts between sadness (check – the sobbing), anger (check – busy body’s escape from near death), confusion (check – bagging my gorgeous boyfriend for loving me), and in some cases, anxiety (check – lack of ability to involuntary breathe) or depression (I escaped this one – phew).

So I had a bad day. I managed to sleep it off and made a pact with myself the following morning that I would not get out of bed until  I could easily bring to mind all the things I was grateful for. After thinking about all the wonderful people I have in my life, the lovely things I am fortunate to have around me, my delightful pets and the ease and happiness to which I am delivered more often than not- it was safe to walk out into the beautiful sunny day.

My heart goes out to the women who suffer the dreadful side effects of Synarel for days on end. I hear that some experience these mood swings for the duration of their cycle. Yuk! To these women, I send love x

Leave a Reply

