Pulling The Trigger

23 Aug

Administering the “trigger shot” brings me such relief. I felt the same way last time I did it. It’s the end of daily injections, it’s the relief of knowing there is nothing more you can do to change the outcome now, and it’s the hope and anticipation of the next stage to this journey – hopefully resulting in the expanding of my otherwise flat belly to accommodate a healthy baby.

Okay! This may not actually be me but I too used to have a bod like this - at some point 🙂

This is the last stage of the IVF treatment which triggers the oocytes to go through the last stage of maturation, before they can be retrieved. This last growth is triggered with human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG). I used 2 syringes of Ovidrel.

Timing this shot is vital. If it’s given too early, the eggs will not have matured enough. If given too late, the eggs may be too old and won’t fertilize properly. The daily ultrasounds at the end of the last step are meant to time this trigger shot just right. Usually, the hCG injection is given when four or more follicles have grown to be 18 to 20mm in size and your estradiol levels are greater than 2,000pg/ML. I had 4 follies weighing in at 16, 19mm on my left ovary and 18 and 20mm on my right. My estradiol was over 4000.

Egg pick up is tomorrow morning in Canberra. Bring it on!

Last cycle I had a 100% fertilisation rate. My donor’s sperm obviously liked the look of my eggs.

Well, I have the same sperm donor this time so I see no reason why I wont have all 4 eggs fertilised and ready for transfer on Friday. I reckon I will get a frosty or two this time as well – that is, I will be able to freeze those embryos that weren’t transferred to the safety of my uterus.

Break a leg eggies and sperm – let the show begin!

One Response to “Pulling The Trigger”

  1. Chantelle August 23, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Good luck, I really hope it all goes well. Actually, I know it will. x x

Leave a Reply

