31 Day Blog Challenge: Day Two (20 Facts)

5 Jan

31 Day Blog Challenge

20 Facts About Me

  1. I have been a vegetarian for over two decades. In fact, I started not wanting to eat meat very early in my life, as soon as I made the connection between the living breathing animal and the meat on my plate. I remember going on school camp at a farm; we were out feeding the baby lambs one day and then served lamb for dinner that night. I managed to convince most of the other kids in the mess hall to go on strike and not eat their dinner.
  2. I’m not into labels, even the label of vegetarian. I truly respect the choices of others. My only request is that people, where possible,  make educated and considered choices.
  3. I love spicy food. Almost to the point that I need to have chilli with every meal.
  4. I love animals and hope to one day have a hobby farm to home rescued animals.
  5. I drink more than 5 cups of tea per day. I gravitate toward warm beverages, even in Summer. My favourite is black tea with milk and sugar (milky of course).
  6. I have a tattoo of a white dove on my right hip. I got this in my early twenties. And yes, it was absolutely a tribute to my desire to see world peace. It needs to be redone as the white has worn off quite a bit.
  7. Binge watching TV series is one of my addictions.
  8. Buying boho clothing is another addiction.
  9. I adore Johnny Depp and believe we are meant to be together, we just haven’t crossed paths yet 😉
  10. I find myself smiling when I am gardening. It really does bring me tremendous joy to have my hands in the soil and to watch things grow.
  11. Camping also gives me great joy, but only at an unpowered site. I don’t consider powered sites to be actually camping.
  12. I don’t believe I know the answer to whether there is a God. I respect other’s views on God and enjoy listening to their beliefs. Mother Nature and energy is what I choose to worship.
  13. I love to read but don’t do it as often as I would like. I often buy books and stack them on my bedside table. I have five right now awaiting my attention.
  14. I used to be a Montessori teacher and loved it for seven years of my life. I studied education at university and when I discovered Montessori I changed over and never looked back.
  15. I moved out of home when I was 16 years old. I was a very mature young lady who was eager for independence. I now pride myself on my immaturity – go figure!
  16. I am known to be an intense person. I’m not exactly sure what this means though. Perhaps that the views I do have, I speak about passionately. I’m also not afraid of confrontation.
  17. I am very passionate about storytelling. My documentary filmmaking  has been a great way to share the personal stories of others – which I LOVE. I also enjoy repurposing this content for other mediums and hope to build a business around this.
  18. I have a knack for home decorating and my friends often ask for advice on such matters.
  19. I love the vibrancy of a city as much as I love being immersed in nature. It is the in-between of suburbia that I’m not interested in.
  20. I take my dog, Dexter, with me to most places that he will be accepted (and some places where he is not). I did the same with the other love of my life, Paddy the golden retriever.

 

 

Leave a Reply

