31 Day Blog Challenge: Day 13 (Earliest Memory)

18 Jan

31 Day Blog Challenge

My Earliest Memory

The pool at my nanna’s and granddad’s (Dan’s) apartments – Villa Royale! They lived in separate units. Nanna lived on the ground floor just in front of the pool area. And Dan lived on the first level. I think he liked to look over the verandah at what was going on and keep an eye on his beloved wife ,who he loved, but couldn’t stand to live with. She felt the same way about him.

I was swimming and a very early age and all I could think of was getting into that pool. I LOVED it! The tinkling sound of the metal latch at the gate would have me standing alert, ready to convince whoever was in there that “it would be fine if they watched me, my mum doesn’t mind even a little bit“.

I grew up in Perth where the sun shines pretty much all the time. I remember being chocolate brown all year round, with wet glistening skin smelling of chlorine. Chlorine was such a beautiful smell to me!

I can still hear the squealing of us kids running around the pool. This was back when running in the pool area and not wearing a hat nor sunscreen was an acceptable social norm.

We’d eat onion and tomato sandwiches on white bread with the crusts cut off. Sometimes we were treated to polony and tomato sauce sandwiches (I feel sick at that thought).

Ah the pool at Villa Royale!

I also remember driving everyone mad with my whining to go back in the water. I would lace my body around the metal bones of the fly screen and hang there suspended looking out at the silvery surface, moaning on repeat, “I want to go in the pooooool, pleeeeeeease”.

40301_414469608247_4824556_n

Miss Posey Pants ready for the pool

2 Responses to “31 Day Blog Challenge: Day 13 (Earliest Memory)”

  1. The EcoFeminist January 18, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    hahaha that’s awesome. i have a wonder woman swimsuit on in one of my younger pix! 🙂

    • motherinwaiting January 18, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Oh wow! I would have loved that! I used to practice her spin quite often. Wonder Woman rocks! 😀

Leave a Reply

